Transportation for SLO County

Mission Statement

The Mission of RTA is to provide safe, reliable and efficient transportation services that improve and enhance the quality of life for the citizens and visitors of San Luis Obispo County. See our 2012-2014 Strategic Business Plan.

**Find RTA Staff**

The San Luis Obispo Regional Transit Authority (RTA) provides intercommunity public transportation. RTA's service area includes all of San Luis Obispo County and extends into Santa Barbara County to the south. RTA provides regional fixed-route service (RTA) and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) complementary paratransit service (Runabout).

RTA is a JPA (Joint Powers Authority) in San Luis Obispo County that operates bus service connecting cities throughout San Luis Obispo County (and beyond), including Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, Grover Beach, Morro Bay, Paso Robles, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo and more. RTA also oversees the administration of South County Area Transit (SCAT) which operates in the Five Cities area of Shell Beach, Pismo Beach, Grover Beach, Oceano and Arroyo Grande.

Our main office address is 179 Cross Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401.  
Look for the silver building with a bright red roof. Administration Office Hours are 8:00 - 4:30pm Monday - Fridays. Administration: 781-4833. Dispatch: 541-2228

To buy a pass, you may come to the RTA Main office or view our pass sales locations throughout the county.


RTA’s fixed-route service consists of six bus routes, which run along Highways 1 and 101 to North County, the North Coast, and South County including the city of Santa Maria in Northern Santa Barbara County: Click here for schedules. 

  • Route 9: North County hourly, local and express service, plus limited Saturday and Sunday local service. Runs via Highway 101, between San Luis Obispo, Cal Poly (limited), Santa Margarita, Atascadero, Templeton, Paso Robles and San Miguel (limited). Operates seven days a week with less frequency on Saturdays and Sundays. 
  • Route 10: South County weekday local and express service. Runs via Highway 101, between San Luis Obispo, Cal Poly, Shell Beach, Pismo Beach, Grover Beach, Arroyo Grande, Nipomo and Santa Maria. Operates seven days a week with less frequency on Saturdays and Sundays.
  • Routes 12: Service between Los Osos/Baywood Park/Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo. One 12 Cal Poly express trip (12X) operates between Los Osos, Morro Bay and Cal Poly. Operates seven days a week with less frequency on Saturdays and Sundays.
  • Route 14: Downtown SLO to Cuesta College. Operates weekdays during Cuesta regular school days only.
  • Route 15: North Coast provides service from Morro Bay to Cayucos, Cambria, San Simeon and Hearst Castle. Operates seven days per week.   Click here to see RTA schedules.
  • Paso Express (A&B): Serves a loop that travels two directions through Paso Robles and connects with Route 9.

South County Transit fixed-route service consists of bus routes, 21, 23 and 24 (as well as special trips to AG High School via Route #25 in the morning and evening). Click here for South County Transit schedules. 


The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990 provides protection for persons with disabilities in a number of areas, such as employment, public accommodations and transportation. The transportation elements of the ADA directed transit agencies to make their fixed route service fully accessible, while requiring transit agencies to also provide complementary paratransit service to individuals who are unable to use accessible fixed route service. Specifically, complementary paratransit service must be provided within ¾ miles of fixed routes during the same days and hours.

The ADA permits trip schedulers to negotiate travel times one hour on either side of the requested time. RTA’s Runabout service is the complementary paratransit provider for all fixed route services in San Luis Obispo County.

Other Services

RTA and SCT also operate additional transit services in San Luis Obispo County, including the Avila Beach Trolley and Dial-A-Ride Services in Nipomo, Paso Robles/Shandon and Templeton. See info.  





San Luis Obispo Regional Transit Authority (SLORTA, now RTA) was formed in 1989, to provide central management for regional fixed-route service as well as Runabout paratransit service.


SLORTA created a new, consolidated fixed-route system, under the name CCAT (Central Coast Area Transit). CCAT provided six fixed routes serving all major population centers in the County. It replaced services previously offered through mutual agreements between the County and various Cities. These prior services included: 

  • CCRTA (Central Coast Regional Transit Authority): South Bay/Morro Bay – San Luis Obispo and Atascadero – San Luis Obispo.
  • SLOSCAT (San Luis Obispo/South County Area Transit): Five Cities – San Luis Obispo.
  • SLOCAT (San Luis Obispo County Area Transit): San Simeon Acres – Morro Bay.

CCAT became RTA in May 2003, and all vehicles were rebranded with a new logo and color scheme.

During the past 20 years, the routes have been modified several times, but still serve the same areas as did the original routes. Today, most routes have hourly service on weekdays, and weekend service is available along all routes.


Runabout paratransit service began in 1977; in 1989, Runabout came under management of the newly formed SLORTA.

In early 2001, Runabout changed emphasis from a General Public Paratransit provider to an Americans with Disabilities Act Paratransit provider. This led to some changes in service. 


In October 2007, a lease/purchase option was signed for a facility under construction at 179 Cross Street in San Luis Obispo. Construction was completed in July 2009 and administration and management moved in on August 1, 2009. And, this is where customers and the public can find us today.